10 Things You Need to Know About: Grand Theft Auto V

Leigh Harris
10 Things You Need to Know About: Grand Theft Auto V

In case you've been living under a rock with blinders on and a bad case of tinnitus, here's ten things about GTA V for you. 

  1. This is the first main entry into the Grand Theft Auto series since GTA IV hit in 2008.
  2. For the first time ever, the game features three playable characters, which can be swapped between at any time.
  3. The game takes place in Los Santos, the satirical version of Los Angeles first seen in Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas, and includes surrounding hills, lakes, mountains and deserts.
  4. The game world is larger than that of GTA IV and Red Dead Redemption combined.
  5. Making a return to the GTA series are such activities and vehicles as quad bikes, jet skis, planes, bicycles, underwater swimming and for the first time ever, blimps.
  6. The plot revolves around three bank robbers, and the player will be tasked with planning and executing various heists.
  7. Side activities will be larger than ever before, with such minutia as buying property and investing in stocks taking up residence alongside bounty hunting missions (ala Red Dead Redemption).
  8. Multiplayer will come in the form of an entierly new brand called Grand Theft Auto Online, which unlocks on 1st October.
  9. Rockstar Games' proprietary RAGE engine (GTA IV, Max Payne 3, Red Dead Redemption) will once again be powering the game.
  10. It launches tonight with EB Games' largest midnight launch in history on PS3 and 360 for AUD$109.95 or NZD$119.95.


Tags: rockstar games , Grand Theft Auto V , 10 things

Follow us on

  • RSS